Hada, Shah claim junior tennis titles

Kathmandu, January 27

Aarav Samrat Hada and Shubhangi Laxmi Shah won the U-14 singles titles of the 16th Jayakar Memorial National Junior Tennis Tournament here today.

Hada defeated Aryan Giri 6-1, 7-5 in the boys’ section final, while Shah defeated Isha Shree Shah 6-3, 7-6(4) to win the girls’ category title. The winners received Rs 25,000 each, while the runners-up got Rs 12,500 apiece.

Likewise, Pranav Manandhar won the U-12 boys’ singles title with a 6-3, 6-2 victory over Saroj Tamang, while Eva Adhikari beat Prashamsa Moktan 6-2, 7-5 in girls’ section final. Top two players in both categories received Rs 15,000 and Rs 10,000 respectively.

In U-10 section, Nishad Joshi beat Samman Basnet 6-1, 6-0 in boys’ final, while Pratistha Lama defeated Samriddhi Maharjan 6-4, 6-4 to win the girls’ singles title. The winners bagged Rs 15,000 each, while the runners-up got Rs 7,500 apiece.

Other winners of the tournament included Ashav Hada and Shibhali Gurung (U-8), Adrit Nepal and Prajna Manandhar (U-9), Chirag Timilsina and Rajbir Pradhan (boys’ doubles), and Isha Shree Shah and Rayana Shah (girls’ doubles). A total of 77 players took part in the tournament organised by Manjayakar Tennis Academy at the National Sports Council complex courts. The tournament carried a total cash purse of Rs 285,000.

President of Nepal Tennis Association Jyoti Rana, GAA Alumni Association President Bhuarun Malla and Patron of Manjayakar Tennis Academy Manoj Rana handed over the prizes to the winners of the tournament.