Henin sets up Dementieva match up

Key Biscayne: Justine Henin advanced to the second round of the Sony Ericsson Open with a 6-2, 6-2 win over Jill Craybas on Wednesday.

Henin double-faulted five times and struggled with inconsistent groundstrokes. But she also saved seven of eight break points while converting five of six. The 33rd-ranked Henin, a former No 1 and seven-time Grand Slam champion, is mounting a comeback this year after a 20-month retirement. She’ll play fifth-seeded Elena Dementieva in the second round on Friday.

Against Craybas, Henin lost her serve in the second game and sometimes struggled to hold after that. Leading 3-2 in the second set, she fought off four break points before going ahead 4-2. Serving for the match at 5-2, Henin overcame one break point and needed four match points to close out the victory.

Henin said her comeback will have its up and downs even considering her impressive start to the year. She reached the final of Brisbane before losing to Kim Clijsters, and the final of the Australian Open before losing to Serena Williams.

James Blake of the US struggled to oust 18-year-old Serbian wild-card recipient Filip Krajinovic in a 6-7 (6), 6-4, 6-4 first-round win. Melanie Oudin closed out the evening with a 6-2, 6-4 win over Michaella Krajicek of the Netherlands.

Making her first appearance here since 1996, 39-year-old Kimiko Date Krumm of Japan earned a 7-5, 3-6, 6-4 victory over Anna Chakvetadze of Russia. Date Krumm, who retired from the tour in 1996 and started to play again in 2008, spent 2 hours, 32 minutes on the court in beating Chakvetadze. Chakvetadze saved two match points she faced while serving at 2-5 in the third set and broke Date’s serve in the next game. The Russian lost the match, dropping her serve at love in the final game.

Other first round women’s winners were Patty Schnyder of Switzerland, Virginie Razzano of France, Carla Suarez Navarro of Spain and Sara Errani of Italy. First round men’s winners were Taylor Dent of the US, David Nalbandian of Argentina, Guillermo Garcia-Lopez of Spain, Jeremy Chardy of France, and Benjamin Becker and Florian Mayer of Germany.