Hosts Sahara off to winning start

Pokhara, March 5

Sahara Club defeated Brigade Boys Club 3-2 in extra time in the opening match of the 18th Aaha-Rara Gold Cup here at the Pokhara Stadium today.

Tridev Gurung scored the winning goal for the hosts moments before the final whistle.

The match went to extra time after both the teams were deadlocked at 2-2 in the regulation period.

Earlier, Gandaki Province Chief Minister Prithvi Subba Gurung inaugurated the tournament.

Top two teams will receive one million rupees and Rs 500,000 respectively.

Meanwhile, Sahara Club honoured national team skipper Sujal Shrestha with the National Player Award during the opening session of the tournament.

Chief Minister Prithvi Subba Gurung handed over felicitation letter along with Rs 35,000 to Shrestha. The award is sponsored by former president of Kaski Football Association.