ICC World T20 Qualifiers: Nepal lose to Hong Kong by 5 wickets

KATHMANDU: Nepal lost their fourth match of the  ICC World Twenty20 Qualifiers match being played at Stormont, Belfast to Hong Kong on Wednesday.

Hong Kong defeated Nepal by five wickets.

Nepal will play next against Papua New Guinea on Friday.

Of four games played so far, Nepal have won only one, against the United States.

They have also lost to Ireland while shared points with Namibia in a rain-hit match.



Nepal post 110-run target to Hong Kong

Nepal have posted a target of 110 runs to Hong Kong in their ICC World Twenty20 Qualifiers match being played at Stormont, Belfast on Wednesday.

Match Referee Graeme Labrooy, left, Nepal captain Paras Khadka, middle, and Hong Kong Captain Tanwir Afwal during the toss before the start of the match at Stormont, Belfast, on Wednesday, July 15, 2015. Photo: ICC/Sportsfile

Nepal were bowled out for 109 runs in 20 overs.

Invited to bat first, Nepal lost their early five wickets for 35 runs in 9.5 overs. Rajesh Pulami and Sharad Vesawkar added crucial 41 runs for the sixth wickets to help build the team to decent 109 runs.

Vesawkar topscored for Nepal with 27 off24, while Pulami contributed 25 off 34 and Sompal Kami 16 off 12.

Haseeb Amjad took four important wickets, while  Irfan Ahmed  claimed two to restrict Nepal to 109.

Batsman R

Sagar Pun 11

Subash Khakurel 2

Gyanendra Malla 0

Paras Khadka 1

Basant Regmi 11

Rajesh Pulami 25

Pradeep Airee 0

Sharad Vesawkar 27

Sompal Kami 16

Shakti Gauchan 2

Jitendra Mukhiya 0*

Bowler 0 R w

Tanwir Afzal 4 35 1

Haseeb Amjad 4 16 4

Aizaz Khan 4 7 1

Irfan Ahmed 4 30 2

Nadeem Ahmed 1 7 0

Nizakat Khan 3 10 1



ICC World T20 Qualifiers: Hong Kong win toss, elect to field against Nepal 

KATHMANDU: Nepal and Hong Kong are playing their Group A match of the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifiers at Stormont, Belfast on Wednesday.

Winning toss, Hong Kong have decided to field against their arch rival Nepal today.

The two teams have met five times in the shortest version of the game in the past, with Nepal winning three of them.

In the tournament, Nepal have won one match, lost one and witnessed no result in one.

Nepal are currently in the fourth position with three points from as many matches, while Hong Kong are sixth with just one.

Hong Kong, on the other hand, have one point only after playing two matches with a loss and a no result.

Nepal have replaced Binod Bhandari by regular wicket-keeper Subash Khakurel in today's match, while seamer Jitendra Mukhiya has been sent instead of Anil Mandal.

Nepal XI:

Paras Khadka, Gyanendra Malla, Basant Regmi, Shakti Gauchan, Sharad Vesawkar, Subash Khakurel, Sagar Pun, Sompal Kami, Jitendra Mukhiya, Pradeep Airee, Rajesh Pulami Magar

Hong Kong XI:

Irfan Ahmed, Anshuman Rath, Nizakat Khan, MS Chapman, Babar Hayat, KD Shah, Aizaz Khan, Tanwir Afzal*, JJ Atkinson†, Haseeb Amjad, Nadeem Ahmed


Bruised Nepal take on Hong Kong today