India announce squad

Mumbai, September 3 :

Indian selectors on Sunday named a 14-member cricket squad for next month’s eight-nation Champions Trophy, keeping ace spinner Anil Kumble out because of a shoulder injury.

Rahul Dravid will remain the captain of the team that includes star batsman Sachin Tendulkar, all-rounder Irfan Pathan and wicket keeper Mahendra Singh Dhoni, said Kiran More, the chief selector.

Leg spinner Kumble has been kept out, despite recovering from shoulder injuries, because the selectors felt he needs more rest.

The Champions Trophy will be played in India between October 7 and November 5. The same players will play in a limited over tri-series in Malaysia between India, Australia and the West Indies, except that the team will have one additional player — fast bowler S Sreesanth. The tri-series will be held from September 14-28.

SQUAD: Rahul Dravid (captain), Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh, Mohammad Kaif, Suresh Raina, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Irfan Pathan, Ajit Agarkar, Munaf Patel, RP Singh, Ramesh Powar, Harbhajan Singh and Dinesh Mongia.