Jaarsveld named PoY

London, September 30:

South African batsman Martin van Jaarsveld was voted Professional Cricketers’ Association Player of the Year (PoY) after a season of oustanding performances for Kent.

Van Jaarsveld saw off competition from Marcus Trescothick, Steve Harmison and Ravi Bopara to receive the award at a ceremony in London. It is the second year in succession a veteran from overseas has picked up the Professional Cricketers’ Association top prize, voted for by the players themselves, following West Indian bowler Ottis Gibson in 2007. Van Jaarsveld has enjoyed a prolific season, hitting 1150 runs, and also thriving in the other domestic competitions.