Pariyar enters final

Kathmandu, April 27

Jitendra Pariyar advanced to the men’s singles final of the fifth Citizens Bank Open Tennis Championship here at the Dasharath Stadium courts today.

In the second semi-final match that was postponed due to lack of time yesterday, Pariyar won the third and final set 6-3 against Pranav Khanal to set up the championship match against defending champion Samrakshyak Bhushan Bajracharya. Pariyar had won the first set 7-5 before Khanal levelled the scores at 1-1 by winning the second set 6-3 yesterday.

Pariyar then combined with Kumar Adhikari to win the men’s doubles title with a 6-3, 6-3 victory over the duo of Santosh Khatri and Dawa Sherpa.

Likewise, Deepak Man Shrestha won the Above-65 veteran singles title beating Gyanendra Tamrakar 4-2, 4-1.

In the Above-35 veteran singles, Mahesh Shrestha and Kamal Bhandari entered the final. Shrestha defeated Niraj Thapa 6-2, 6-3, while Bhandari beat Raju Shrestha 6-0, 6-4 in the semi-finals. Similarly, Manoj Shah defeated Amir Sherchan 6-0, 6-2 and Pradeep Shah registered a hard-fought 6-2, 3-6, 10-5 victory over Pratap Moktan to enter the Above-45 veteran singles final. Likewise, Manoj Lama and Pradeep Shah entered the Above-55 veteran singles final. Lama defeated Dilip Singh 6-2, 6-1, while Shah beat Dhruba Gurung 6-4, 6-3.

Also, Manoj Rana and Chhyamba Dundup advanced to the Above-55 veteran doubles final with a 6-3, 6-2 victory over the pair of Karma Ghale and Prithivi Thakali, while the duo of Prithivi Gurung and Rajendra Gaire beat Sahadev Dhungana and Dhruba Gurung 6-0, 6-4 in another semi-final match.

In the mixed doubles category semi-final matches, Shree Ram Magar and Ira Rawat defeated Ganga Sharma and Shakti Sharma 6-3, 6-2, while the pair of Samrakshyak Bhushan Bajracharya and Mayanka Rana registered a 6-2, 6-2 victory over the duo of Nabin Pun and Prerana Koirala.