Jitendra wins mens title

LALITPUR: Jitendra Pariyar ended the excellent run of defending champion Kumar Adhikari to win the men’s singles title of the 10th Nepal Investment Bank OpenTennis Tournament with a 6-3, 3-6, 6-3 here today.

In the title match, Jitendra won the first set 6-3 but the defending champion came back strong in the second with 6-3. However, Jitendra won the final set with another 6-3 to claim the title. Priti Rijal, meanwhile, defended the women’s singles title defeating Malika Rana in straight sets 6-2, 6-3.

The winners in both the sections earned Rs 40,000 each while the runners up received Rs 20,000 apiece. Earlier, Jitendra and Kumar had combined to beat Manoj Rana and Sri Ram Magar 7-5, 6-2 in the men’s doubles final. The duo got Rs 20,000 while the runners up earned Rs 10,000.

Former minister Kamal Thapa won the men’s veterans (above 35yrs) singles championship match after Rajesh Chhetri retired due to injury with the match tied on 4-4 in the first set. Murari Bhakta Mathema defeated Madhukar Shumsher Rana 6-3, 6-2 to win the men’s veterans (above 65yrs) singles title while Renu Bajracharya claimed the women’s veterans (above 35yrs) trophy beating Jyoti Rana 6-1, 6-1.

President of Nepal Investement Bank Ltd Prithvi Bahadur Pandey gave away the prizes to the winners. A total of 178 players — 152 men and 26 women — participated in 11 various events in the tournament.