Kat Queens march into final

Kathmandu, October 22

Kat Queens Kathmandu thrash Biratnagar Titans by nine wickets and advanced to the final of the Women’s Champions League here at the TU Stadium.

In the eliminator match of the Twenty20 cricket tournament, the Titans collapsed to a paltry 68 runs in 17.3 overs before the Queens raced to 70-1 with 61 balls to spare. The Queens will face Chitwan Rhinos in Thursday’s final. The Rhinos made it to the final after finishing first in the league round.

After losing opener Roma Thapa for a golden duck, skipper Rubina Chhteri Belbashi and Apsari Begam took the Queens home with 70-run partnership for the unbroken second wicket.

Thapa was trapped leg before the wicket by Sonu Khadka in the first ball of the innings. Belbashi top scored for Queens scoring an unbeaten 34 off just 20 balls that included six boundaries, while Begam scored 27 not out and struck three fours in her 28-ball knock.

Earlier, the Titans made a promising start with openers Jyoti Pandey and Sonu Khadka putting in 44 runs inside seven overs before they were dismissed in the space of three runs. Pandey was the first to be dismissed, stumped by Mamta Thapa off Belbashi for 12 runs, while Khadka struck six fours in her 25-ball 34 — half of the team total.

The Titans innings saw a collapse soon after and they lost the remaining eight wickets for a paltry 18 runs.

Aarati Bidari (11) was the only batter to contribute in double figures. Belbashi was the pick of the Queens bowlers taking 4-4 from four overs, while Ishwori Bist, Sangita Rai and Laxmi Saud grabbed one wicket each.

Belbashi was named the player of the match.

A total of five city-based franchise teams took part in the tournament organised by Queens Event Management Pvt Ltd. Top two sides will receive Rs 700,000 and Rs 300,000 respectively.

Likewise, player of the series will get TVS scooter and Rs 50,000, while the best bowler and batter will earn Rs 25,000 each.