Kathmandu RayZrs defeated FC Chitwan 2-1 to finish as the top team of the Khukri Nepal Super League here at the Dasharath Stadium today.

In the last match of the league round, Kathmandu rode on goals from Messouke E Oloumoue and Sanjok Rai to record their fourth win, while Rajiv Lopchan netted the consolation goal for already-eliminated Chitwan.

Kathmandu accumulated 13 points from six matches to finish the league campaign at the top of the table, while Dhangadhi FC dropped to second with 10 points. Lalitpur City FC and Butwal Lumbini FC finished third and fourth respectively as the top four sides made it to the playoffs. Chitwan, who failed to register a single win in the tournament, finished at the bottom with just two points and they were eliminated along with Pokhara Thunders (eight) and Biratnagar City FC (seven).

Kathmandu opened the scoring in the 17th minute when Oloumoue received a long pass from Biswas Udas and rounded off Chitwan goalkeeper Roman Rasaili before slotting home from close range.

Sanjok Rai doubled the tally in the 34th minute after Chitwa defender Ruddy Jonathan failed to clear a cross from Biswas Shrestha.

Chitwan reduced the margin four minutes later in rebound after Kathmandu custodian Binaya Shrestha blocked his initial shot.

Kathmandu's Tej Tamang was named the man of the match and he earned Rs 25,000, while his teammate Biswas Udas won the emerging player's award along with Rs 10,000.

Table toppers Kathmandu will play against second-placed Dhangadhi in the first qualifier match on Tuesday, while Lalitpur City FC will face Butwal Lumbini FC in the eliminator on Wednesday.

The winners of the first qualifier will advance to the final, while the losing side will play against the winning team of the eliminator match to decide the second finalists on Thursday.

The final is slated for May 15.

A version of this article appears in the print on May 10, 2021, of The Himalayan Times.