Kathmandu Tigers win T20 Cup

Kathmandu, October 15:

Kathmandu Tigers defeated Nepal Lions by 19 runs in the final of the Bajaj Pulsar Twenty20 Super Cricket Tournament here at the TU Stadium today.

Batting first after winning the toss, the Tigers accumulated 129/9 in 20 overs and restricted the Lions to 110/8. Skipper Paras Khadka hit 33-ball 47, while Dipendra Chaudhary

and Paresh Lohani scored 25 runs each for the Tigers.

Sharad Vesawkar and Shakti Gauchan took two wickets each for the Lions. In reply, Vesawkar top-scored for the Lions with 23 runs, while skipper Binod Das and Mahesh Chhetry contributed 16 and 14 runs respectively.

Amrit Bhattarai took three and Sanjam Regmi claimed two wickets for the Tigers. Kathmandu Tigers captain Paras Khadka was named the man of the match. Sharad Vesawkar of Nepal Lions, who scored 116 runs and took four wickets, was declared the man of the series, while Mehboob Alam of Kathmandu Tigers, who accumulated a total of 164 runs including a century, won the best batsman award.

Another player from the Tigers Dipesh Khatri, who took six wickets in the tournament including a hat-trick in the opening-day match, received the best bowler’s award.

The Tigers had beaten the Lions by 55 runs on Friday in the last league match of the four-team tournament organised by Shangri-La Cricket Academy and Red Inc under the sponsorship of Bajaj Pulsar. Pepsi, Reebok, ITNTI and Toyota were the co-sponsors of the event. The Himalayan Times was the official media and was supported by Everest Bank Ltd, Pashupati Paints and Hotel Shangri-La. Cricket Association of Nepal provided the technical support for the tournament.