Khukuri Challenger from Wednesday

Kathmandu, January 21

Khukuri Ent is organising the Khukuri Challenger Twenty20 Cup at the Mulpani Cricket  Ground and Tribhuvan University Stadium from January 24 to February 17.

A total of 20 teams will compete in the league-cum-knockout tournament, informed Khukuri Ent President Binayak Bikram Thapa at  the press meet today. The participating teams have been divided into four pools and the top two teams from all the groups will advanced to the quarter-finals.

Thapa  informed that the league round and quarter-final matches will be played  at the Mulpani, while the semi-finals and final matches will be  held at the TU Stadium. According to Thapa, the participating  teams were allowed to include a maximum of four national players who have represented the country since 2015.

Kathmandu  Cricket Training Centre, Ultimate Indoor Cricket, RCA Pyuthan  Challengers and Malpokhari Cricket Club have been pitted in Group A,  while Group B comprises of IOE Pulchowk, Royal PC Fighter, Lord Buddha  Cricket Club, Baluwatar Cricket Club and Trimurty Boys. Similarly,  Oasis Cricket Academy, Great Himalayan Cricket Academy, IOE Thapathali,  Nepal Cricket School and Tribhuvan Army Club are in Group C, while Group  D consists of Tikapur Cricket, Rautahat-XI, Makwanpur Cricket Club,  Butwal Cricket Boys and Inter-District Sports Club.

Top two  teams will earn Rs 300,000 and Rs 100,000 respectively. Player-of-the tournament will receive Rs 20,000, while the best  batsman and bowler will get Rs 10,000 each.