Lara, Muralitharan, Flintoff in both sides

Melbourne, August 23:

South Africans Graeme Smith and Shaun Pollock will captain the two World XI cricket teams in October’s Super Series against Australia, while Brian Lara, Muttiah Muralitharan and Andrew Flintoff were among those named in both sides. The 13-man Test squad and the 14-man one-day squad were announced on Tuesday by International Cricket Council officials.

West Indian batsman Lara, Sri Lankan spinner Muralitharan and English allrounder Flintoff were among nine players named in both teams. The others were Shoaib Akhtar of Pakistan, Jacques Kallis and Pollock of South Africa, Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid of India and Daniel Vettori of New Zealand.

Pollock will lead the one-day side in three matches at Melbourne’s Telstra Dome on October 5, 7 and 9, while Smith will lead the Test team in a six-day match at the Sydney Cricket Ground from October 14-19. Former New Zealand captain and India coach John Wright will coach the World teams. Australia will name its teams after the Ashes series. Former Indian captain Sunil Gavaskar, the World XI’s chairman of selectors, said the teams will put Australia under severe pressure to maintain its dominant home record.

Teams: World XI Test — Shoaib Akhtar (Pak), Mark Boucher (S Africa), Rahul Dravid (India), Andrew Flintoff (England), Steve Harmison (England), Brian Lara (West Indies), Jacques Kallis (S Africa), Muttiah Muralitharan (Sri Lanka), Shaun Pollock (S Africa), Virender Sehwag (India), Graeme Smith (S Africa, cap), Sachin Tendulkar (India), Daniel Vettori (New Zealand). ODI — Shahid Afridi and Shoaib Akhtar (Pak), Herschelle Gibbs (S Africa), Andrew Flintoff (England), Jacq-ues Kallis (S Africa), Brian Lara (W Indies), Muttiah Muralitharan (Sri Lanka), Makhaya Ntini (S Africa), Kevin Pietersen (England), Shaun Pollock (S Africa, cap), Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka), Virender Sehwag (India), Sachin Tendulkar (India), Daniel Vettori (New Zealand).