Local briefs

MPC in semis

HETAUDA: League champions Mahendra Police Club (MPC) beat NIB Friends Club 3-1 to enter the semi-finals of the Martyrs Memorial National Football Tournament. Ju Manu Rai struck twice and Chetan Ghimire scored another for MPC. Nilendra Dewan pulled one back for Friends. Rai put MPC ahead in the 14th minute and added his second four minutes into the second half, both on Bhola Silwal’s assist. Ghimire scored in the dying moments of the game, after Dewan had reduced the margin to 2-1 in the 64th. Rai was named the man of the match. NRT will meet Temke Club of Dharan on Tuesday. — HNS

Unique win

KATHMANDU: Unique Boarding School defeated Shrine Academy 45-32 and Valley Public beat Prime Academy 16-12 to win the boys and girls’ titles respectively at the Classic Invitational Basketball Tournament. Suman Baskota netted 20 points for Unique while Sarita Shrestha had eight points for Valley Public. Krishna KC scored 22 as Don Bosco beat Gyan Niketan 54-48 in the boys’ third-place match. Anita KC scored 10 as Teresa Academy overcame Milan Vidhya Mandir 21-15 to claim the girls’ third place. Ajay Thapa and Nani Maya Nepali were adjudged the Most Valuable Players. — HNS

Triyog in last 8

KATHMANDU: Triyog and Elites Co-Ed entered the quarter-finals of the first Mahendra Bhawan Inter-school Girls Basketball Tournament. Manila Gurung scored the match-winning 13 as Troyog beat Trungram International Academy 30-28 while Elites earned a walkover from Little Angels’. In quarter-finals, Triyog will play Malpi International, Elite meet Gyan Niketan, Valley public face hosts Mahendra Bhawan and Rato Bangala take on Himalayan. — HNS

‘C’ Div selection

KATHMANDU: Civil Youth Club blanked Chunbari Sports Club 4-0 to enter the Group A semi-finals at the ‘C’ Division Selection Football Tournament at the Sanogaucharan grounds. Milendra Parajuli struck a hat-trick and Deepak Bista added the other for Civil. In other matches of the day, Samir Karki scored twice as Skyland Youth Club defeated Galkhopakha Club 2-0 and Ashapuri Youth Club edged out Tulsi Lal Memorial Club 2-1. Nirakar Adhikari and Chitra Lama scored a goal each while Pravin Shrestha converted for Tulshi Lal. Likewise, Triveni Youth Club defeated Manamaneshwori Youth Club 3-2 in tie-breaker after a 2-2 deadlock. Binod Lama scored both the goals for Triveni as did Sourya Thapa for Manamaneshwori. — HNS