Sanyog leads

in Air Rifle

LALITPUR: Sanyog Krishna Shrestha of Mid-western Region is leading the men’s air rifle section with 519 points on the opening day of the National Open Shooting Championship here on Friday.

Saran Kumar Chhantyal of Western Region is on top in the men’s air pistol event with 517 points out of 600. Anju Budhathoki of Eastern Region and Krishna Thapa of Mid-western Region are leading in women’s air rifle and air pistol events respectively. Budhathoki scored 353 out of 400 points while Thapa earned 350 points.

The championship includes 10-metre air rifle and air pistol in both men and women’s sections. Organised by Nepal Shooting Association, a total of 75 shooters from five development regions as well as Nepal Army and Nepal Police are taking part in the championship. — HNS

‘Punish NOC’

KATHMANDU: Nepal National and International Players’ Association (NNIPA) has raised serious objection to the ways Nepal Olympic Committee has been overlooking their responsibilities towards the athletes. The NNIPA has condemned NOC for observing World Sports Day (June 23) without informing anyone and in unknown ways.

“The NOC has sheepishly observed the World Sports Day in some school misusing the financial and physical assistance provided by the International Olympic Committee,” the NNIPA stated in a release on Friday. The statement added that the NOC had continued with their evil character neglecting the future of sports and players for their personel benifit.

The NNIPA also alleged NOC for grave financial and physical irregularities and demanded Nepal Government to take stern action against them. The NNIPA also warned they would take to the streets if their demands were not taken seriously. — HNS

School football

LALITPUR: New Buddha Prakash Secondary School beat Birendra Army School 2-1 and Divya Jyoti English School edged past Himalayan International School 1-0 in the Coca Cola Inter-school Football Tournament held at the ANFA Technical Centre, Chyasal on Friday. In other matches at ANFA Complex Satdobato, Gyankunja Secondary School blanked New English School 4-0 and Peace Point Boarding School overcame Pragati Sikshya Sadan 2-1. — HNS