Local briefs

Officials depart

KATHMANDU: President of All Nepal Football Association Ganesh Thapa, treasurer Birat Jung Shahi, and joint secretary Dhirendra Kumar Pradhan today left for Morocco to take part in the 55th General Assembly of Federation of International Football Associations (FIFA) to be held in Marrakech on September 11-12. — HNS

Ideal Model TT

LALITPUR: AIMS School accumulated 95 points and won the title of the Ideal Model Trophy Valleywide Inter-school Table Tennis Championship here today. Bijeshwori School earned 75 points for the second spot while AVM, Ganesh Memorial and New Summit School finished joint third with 44 points each. In the boys singles final, Sujan Manandhar of New Summit beat Prabhat Dawadi of Ganesh Memorial 10-12, 11-8, 13-11, 10-12, 11-3. Anish Shrestha of Bijeshwori and Chhema Limbu of Ideal Model were declared the best players, while Purushottam Bajracharya of AIMS was adjudged the best coach. Other winners were: Rojina Deshar of AIMS (U-12 girls), Aashish and Prabhat of Ganesh Memorial (boys doubles), AVM’s Ayush Rimal (U-14 boys), Pradeep Rokka of Bijeshwori (U-12 boys), New Summit (boys’ team event), Bijeshwori (girls’ team), Anu Raut of Canvas (U-14 girls). — HNS

Amrit Trophy

KATHMANDU: Free Students Union of Amrit Science College (ASCOL) is organising the third Amrit Trophy Open Basketball Championship from September 9-20. In all, 16 teams are taking part in the tournament. The participating teams are divided into four pools. Group A consists of Kathmandudes, Min Bhawan, Gyan Niketan and Siphal, while Shridiwa, Everest South Siders, KU and ASCOL are in Group B. RIBS, Shanti Yuwa, BBST and Galaxian are in Group C and Himalayan White House, Prime Sports Club, PYC and Tri-Chandra are in Group D. The winners will be richer by Rs 40,000 while the runner-up will get Rs 20,000. The Most Valuable Player and the most defensive player will receive Rs 5,000 each. — HNS

Sunrise Cup

KATHMANDU: Kusum Rai beat Yamuna Thapa 11-4, 11-2 in the all-Galaxy girls singles final of the Sunrise Inter-school Badminton Championship. Other winners were Sajan Krishna Shrestha (Junior boys), Kusum Rai and Yamuna Thapa (girls doubles), Manisha Samskar (junior girls), Dor Bahadur Rana and Birendra Gauchan (boys doubles), Birendra Gauchan (senior boys singles). Deepak Kumar Gurung, president of Kathmandu district PABSON, gave away prizes. — HNS