Kumar, Linda win

LALITPUR: Kumar Adhikari won the men’s singles title of the first Autumn Open Tennis Tournament after his opponent Krishna Karsolia withdrew because of injury. Kumar bagged Rs 20,000 and Karsolia got Rs 10,000. Linda McDogul defeated Priti Rijal 7-6, 1-6, 6-1 in the women’s singles final and received Rs 8,000. Rijal earned Rs 4,000. In the veterans’ (35+) singles final, Rajesh Chhetry beat Chandra Shahi 6-3, 6-1, while Kamal Thapa defeated Manoj Rana 6-1, 6-2 to win the veterans’ (45+) singles title. In all, 216 players took part in the nine events of the tournament organised by Fair Deal Trading Concern under the sponsorship of Sony and World Distribution Nepal Pvt Ltd. — HNS

7th Weeka Talentia

KATHMANDU: Rajan Singh scored 20 points as Kathmandu Don Bosco College (KDBC) defeated RIBS 64-39 in the Inter-college Basketball Tournament, which has been organised by KDBC under the sevent Weeka Talentia. In other matches, White House College defeated Campion Kathmandu 52-28 riding on Neepam Sherpa’s 19 points; and Wisdom pandey scored 18 points in Xavier International’s 43-26 win over KDBC ‘B’. Asha Rai scored 13 points as KDBC beat Xavier International 27-15 in girls’ section. — HNS

AFC U-17 C’ship

KATHMANDU: Uzbekistan will take on Kyrguzstan in the first match of the Group F qualifying tournament for the AFC Under-17 Championshiop here at Dasharath Stadium on Sunday. Nepal is the other team in the three-team group. The winner of the tournament will advance to the quarter-finals, and will be joined by top team each from the other 14 groups and the hosts Bangladesh. Nepal will play against Kyrgyzstan on November 15 and is scheduled to play against Uzbekistan two days later. — HNS

Thalar Golf Cup

KATHMANDU: Chuda Bahadur Bhandari won the 0-9 handicap section title at the Thalar Cup Golf Tournament on countback after he was tied at 69 points with Madan Rana here at Royal Nepal Golf Course. Played at stroke play full handicap format, Indra Lamichhane scored 66 net points to win the 10-18 handicap section title beating Deepak Rajbhandary (67).

RNGC captain Deep Bahadur Basnet won the best gross award with 74 points, while Dal Bahadur Gurung won the super senior section award beating Himalaya SJB Rana.

Shastika Shrestha, who is the ladies captain at RNGC, won the ladies section title with 75 net points whereas Sandhya Rai finished second with 77. Other winners included Hari Bahadur Shrestha (most birdies), Arjun Gurung (sixteen position), Spandan Lama (longest drive at Hole No 13), Madan Rana (closest to the pin at Hole No 17) and Robin SJB Rana (best sportsmanship). — HNS

Gyanodaya in final

KATHMANDU: Gyanodaya entered the final of the Inter-High School Basketball League Tournament, which has been jointly organised by Lincoln School and CSSV. Little Angels’ School needed a win to enter the final but suffered a 29-76 loss to Lincoln School, and Gyanodaya registered a 49-37 win over Rato Bangala School to book a place in Sunday’s final, where they will meet Lincoln School. — HNS

ANFA names squad

LALITPUR: All Nepal Football Association (ANFA) has selected 25 players out of 44 players in the first-round selection for the upcoming fourth SAFF Championship football tournament to be held in Karachi from December 7-17. The team has been training under Japanese coach Toshihiko Shiozawa and Maheshwor Mulmi. The selected players are Upendra Man Singh, Ritesh Thapa, Bikash malla, Rakesh Shrestha, Janak Singh, Tashi Chhiring, Sagar Thapa, Lok Bandhu Gurung, Subash Lama, Sanjeev Budhathoki, Anjan KC, Ram Kumar Biswas, Nabin Neupane, Rajesh Shahi, Ananta Thapa, Pradeep Maharjan, Bishan Gauchan, Bijay Gurung, Raju Tamang, Pralay Rajbhandari, Hari Khadka, Surendra Tamang, Ramesh Budhathoki, Yugal Kishor Rai, and Basanta Thapa. The final 20-member squad will be announced within next two weeks. — HNS