Machhapuchchhre Football TournamentRUPANDEHI: Lumbini Khukuri Club won the title of the 27th Machhapuchchhre Football Tournament here on Tuesday. Lumbini defeated Bhairabh Sporting Club 3-2 in the final match.

Aashish Gurung, Ajit Gurung and Amar Pun scored one goal each for Lumbini, while Dhaniram Chaudhary and Pam Bahadur Paija replied for Bhairabh. Champions Lumbini received Rs 100,000, while Bhairabh earned Rs 50,000.

Paija was the highest scorer of the tournament with eight goals and he was also named the emerging player of the tournament. Aashish Gurung of Lumbini was declared the best player of the tournament.

A total of 15 teams took part in the tournament organised by Machhapuchchhre Club. Social Development Minister of Province 5 Sudarshan Baral, Member of Parliament Santosh Pandey and Siddharthanagar Mayor Hari Prasad Adhikari, Deputy Mayor Uma Kafle, President of Machhapuchchhre Club Yam Bahadur Thapa among others handed over the prizes to the winners.