Mahavir thrash Lalitpur Veterans by 8 wickets

Himalayan News Service

Lalitpur, January 3:

Mahavir Club thrashed Lalitpur Veterans by eight wickets in the Shyam Chaitanya Baba Memorial Winter Trophy Cricket Tournament, which has been organised by Cricket Association of Lalitpur under the sponsorship of McDowell’s, here today.

Batting first after skipper Nirajeet Rimal won the toss at St Xavier’s School ground, Lalitpur were bowled out for a paltry 73 runs in 28.2 overs.

Opener Naresh Rana scored 14 off 39 balls including three hits to the fence, while Hitesh Bista departed after scoring 14 off 17 balls including three fours. Rupesh KC remained unbeaten on 11 off 20 balls, while Nirajeet Rimal and Simon Rongong scored seven each.

For star-studded Mahavir Club, Pramod Roy took four wickets conceding 15 runs in six overs which earned him the man of the match award, while national league champion Biratnagar’s skipper Dipendra Chaudhary claimed two wickets giving away seven runs in 3.2 overs. National team vice-captain Binod Das, who was named the best bowler of the tournament in recently concluded Birendra Memorial National League, and Dhirendra Chand pocketed one wicket each.

In reply, Mahavir Club overcame the target losing two wickets in just nine overs. Opener Prafulla Baidya remained unbeaten on 39 off 31 balls which included eight hits the ropes, while Kastu Ganguli scored a quic k fire 18 off 13 balls including three boundaries before being dismissed by Manoj Khaling. Skipper Paresh Lohani, also the national team skipper and opener, was the second wicket to fall, scoring five of six balls at the hands of Rupesh KC, while Dharmendra Mishra remained unbeaten on run-a-ball four.

On Tuesday, East West will take on Baluwatar Cricket Club.