KATHMANDU: Em Rana and Pratibha Mali won the Manoranjan Raman Sharma Awards here on Sunday.

National Sports Council Member Secretary Ramesh Kumar Silwal and Nepal Volleyball Association President Manoranjan Raman Sharma handed over Rs 35,000 each to Rana and Mali along with awards and appreciation letters.

The national volleyball team skipper Rana was selected as the winner of the award for his performance in the national and international events including the inspiring leadership on the way to winning the historic bronze medal in the third AVC Central Zone Senior Men's Volleyball Tournament.

Likewise, Mali was the member of the women's national team that bagged silver medal in the 13th South Asian Games held on home soil in December 2019, a month after winning gold in the AVC Central Zone Senior Women's Volleyball Tournament in Bangladesh.

Sharma established the award with a fund of one million rupees and the NVA has been awarding two players every year.