Mandekaji Shrestha, Gaurika Singh named NSJF Pulsar Player of the Year 2076

KATHMANDU: The 17th edition of Pulsar Sports Award organised by the Nepal Sports Journalists Forum (NSJF) awarded players from various categories for their respective achievements, in Kathmandu on Tuesday.

Karate player Mandekaji Shrestha and swimmer Gaurika Singh won Player of the Year awards, while national volleyball team was named the 'Team of the Year' at the awards held at Ianternational Sports Complex in Kathmandu. The event was held complying with government safety measures against COVID-19.

Along with Shrestha, Gopichandra Parki (Athletics), Kamal Shrestha (Taekwondo), Subash Tamang (Golf) and Bikesh Kuthu (Football) were nominees for PoTY under men's category.

Likewise, Ayasha Shakya (Taekwondo), Santoshi Shrestha (Athletics), Soni Gurung (Triathlon) and Anu Adhikari (karatee) were other nominees in the female category.

Golfer Subash Tamang was declared young player of the year.

Bhupen Shrestha, Sina Limbu Maden both representing (Taekwondo), Punam Shrestha (Judo) and Sanju Chaudhary (weight-lifting) were other nominees in the category.

Likewise, Taekwondo coach Navin Kumar Shrestha was named the coach of the year ahead of Madan Uprety (karate), Amar Ting (wushu), Shankar Karki (swimming) and Prakash Thapa Magar (boxing).

Winners in four categories — male, female, coach and people’s choice — were awarded with a Pulsar motorcycle each, while other winners bagged Rs 50,000 apiece apart from gift hampers from Dish Home and Kelme Nepal.

Hansraj Hulaschand and Company was the main sponsor of the event, while Surya Nepal Pvt Ltd, Dish Media Network Limited, Royal Singi Hotel, Turkish Airlines, Kelme Nepal, Ruslan Football, Emaging, Hotel Crown Plaza, eSewa, Ministry of Youth and Sports, NSC and NOC are the co-sponsors and partners.

The Award was dedicated to sports journalist Suman Bhomjan, who died during earthquake in 2015.

List of NSJF Pulsar Sports Award winners:

Best Player (male):

Mandekaji Shrestha (karate)

Best Player (female) :

Gaurika Singh (swimming)

People's choice :

Aruna Shahi (volleyball)

Best Coach :

Navin Kumar Shrestha (taekwondo)

Best Young Player :

Subash Tamang (golf)

Para-athletic :

Digam Singh Chemjong (para-cricket)

Special Award:

Ayusha Shakya (taekwondo)

Santoshi Shrestha (athletic)

Team of the year :

National volleyball team (women)

Lifetime achievement award:

Sijran Shah & Geeta Chettri (table tennis)