Nat’l Basketball begins today

Kathmandu, January 14:

The seventh women’s and eighth men’s Trinity National Open Basketball Championship is scheduled to begin here at the National Sports Council covered hall from tomorrow.

In all, 19 teams in men’s and eight in women’s section will vie for the championships organised by Nepal Basketball Association. Among the teams in the men’s section are Golden Gate Club, Reunited, Sunsari, Naya Bazaar Warrior, Trinity Club, White House International College, JB College, Udaypur, Tribhuvan Army Club, Unique Group, Time Club, Kaski, Rupandehi, Nawalparasi, Revolver, Chitwan, Southsiders, Prime Sports and Jhapa.

Likewise, Rato Bangala, Naag Sports, Golden Gate, Godavari Alumni Association (GAA), Prime Sports, Orient, Xavier International and White House International College are the teams to participate for the women’s trophy. The tournament will be played under league-cum-knockout basis.Top two teams from each of the four groups in men’s section will advance for the quarter-finals while two best teams each from of the two pools will qualify for the semi-finals in the women’s section.

Most Valuable Player (MVP) in both men and women’s section will receive Rs 25,000 each. Suraj Shrestha has sponsored the MVP award for man along with a trophy while Raju Rayamajhi has sponsored the MVP award for woman along with a trophy. The estimated budged of the tournament is Rs 1.3 million, said the organisers here today. Trinity International College in the title sponsor of the tournament.