NSC honours staff, sports journalists

Kathmandu, August 31

National Sports Council (NSC) felicitated six staff and as many sports journalists, including Udipt Singh Chhetry, the senior photojournalist of The Himalayan Times, during the closing ceremony its 53rd anniversary here today.

NSC honoured head of Morang District Sports Development Committee Devraj Katwal with the outstanding service award, NSC’s non-gazetted first class officer of administration department Sukumar Thapa with the best service award and officer of finance department Gyanu Ghimire with service award in the category of administration. They received Rs 25,000, Rs 15,000 and Rs 10,000 and letter of felicitations respectively.

In the technical section, Kanchanpur District Sports Development Committee’s volleyball assistant coach Jagadish Prasad Bhatta received the outstanding service award, Banke District Sports Development Committee’s judo coach Dal Bahadur Gurung was honoured with the best service award and Udayapur District Sports Development Committee’s kabbadi assistant coach Parbati Rai got service award. Bhatta, Gurung and Rai got Rs 25,000, Rs 15,000 and Rs 10,000 respectively.

Similarly, THT photojournalist Chhetry along with sports journalists Roshan Singh Raut of Annapurna Post, Shreelochan Rajopadhyaya of Naya Patrika, Binod Pandey of Kantipur, Prakash Timalsina of Nagarik and Pradeep Lekhi of Kantipur Television were  felicitated on the occasion. They received Rs 5,000 each.

The NSC also felicitated 11 employees with the life-time service medal for completing 25 years of service and NSC service medals to 136 employees for serving 20 years. Minister for Youth and Sports Daljit Sripali, Joint Secretary Choodamani Paudel  and NSC Member Secretary Keshab Kumar Bista among others handed over the awards and certificates.

Meanwhile, Minister Sripali said that the seventh National Games would be held on scheduled time. He also said that NSC staff would be awarded or punished depending on their performance.