Nayabasti, Samajik register wins

Kathmandu, September 21

Nayabasti Youth Club beat Pulchowk Sports Club 2-1 to record their second win in the Martyrs Memorial B Division League here at the Nepal APF Club grounds on Wednesday.

Nayabasti took lead through Pradip Magar’s goal in the 74th minute. Ashish Gurung of Pulchowk levelled the tally in the 77th minute from the spot. However, Sajan Rai’s goal in 90th minute helped Nayabasti grab all three points.

Nayabasti, with two wins and four draws, moved to 10th position with 10 points. Bansbari Club and Tushal Youth Club are ninth and 11th positions on goal differences as they are tied with Nayabasti on 10 points.

In the second match at the same venue, Divine Boys’ Union Club and Khumaltar Youth Club played a 1-1 draw. Khumaltar took the lead in the 13th minute after skipper Suraj Raut found the net. However, Boys Union’s Abishek Limbu scored the equaliser in the 66th minute. Boys Union are sixth with 13 points, while Khumaltar are on 12th position.

At the ANFA Complex grounds in Lalitpur, Samajik Youth Club edged past Bansbari 3-2 to win their second match of the league. Bansbari went ahead through Sunil BK’s goal in the 21st minute. Samajik scored the equaliser in the injury time of first half after Bhuwan Basnet’s shot found the back of the net.

Suresh Khatri put Samajik ahead in the 79th minute, while Binod Gurung scored from the spot as Bansbari levelled the scores in the first minute of injury time. Subash Tamang then slammed home a left-footed volley in the fourth minute of injury time as Samajik grabbed full three points. Despite the win, Samajik are second last with seven points.