Nepal announce final squad for Malaysia friendly

KATHMANDU: Featuring 23 players in it, Nepal on Monday announced the final squad to play a friendly against Malaysia U22, scheduled for Sunday, March 27.

Recently appointed head coach, Gyotoku Koji, unveiled the squad amid a programme at ANFA Complex, Satdobato today.

The squad includes three goalkeepers, nine defenders, six midfielders and five forwards. Biraj Maharjan remains the captain.

Speaking at the programme, Nepal's Japanese head coach said that the majority of 12th SAG's gold medal winning squad have been included in the final squad as the Malaysian side was also young.

"We are playing a youthful side as the opponents are also of the same level and it will help to nurture the talent we have for future," Koji said.

The Nepal vs Malaysia friendly will be at the Tuanku Abdul Rahman Stadium Paroi, Negeri Sembilan at 9 pm local time.

The 23 players in the squad are:


Bikesh Kuthu

Bishal Shrestha

Kiran Kumar Limbu


Ranjit Dhimal

Man Bahadur Tamang

Kamal Shrestha

Jitendra Karki

Dinesh Rajbanshi

Devendra Tamang

Biraj Maharjan

Rabin Shrestha

Bijay Dhimal


Bishal Rai

Heman Gurung

Jagajeet Shrestha

Prakash Budhathoki

Sujal Shrestha

Sunil Bal


Bharat Khawas

Bishwas Shrestha

Nawayug Shrestha

Ranjan Bista

Suman Lama