Nepal clash with Malaysia

Himalayan News Service

Kathmandu, April 22:

The three-day match of the ICC Inter-Continental Cup cricket tournament between Nepal and Malaysia begins here from Saturday at Tribhuvan University (TU) Stadium.

In this regard, Cricket Association of Nepal retained Raju Khadka as the skipper. Vice-captain Binod Das was ruled out of the final 14 after the fast bowler, who played an important role in the match against the UAE, was injured during the camp.

Another fast bowler Manjeet Shrestha was also named in the substitutes along with Kanishka Chaugain and Paras Luniya.

The 14-member team selected by National Selection Committee also include Paresh Lohani, Paras Khadka, Yunil Shrestha, Dipendra Chaudhari, Kalam Ali, Mehboob Alam, Manoj Katuwal (wicketkeeper), Bikasha Lal Dali, Sajam Regmi, Shakti Prasad Gauchan, Raj Kumar Pradhan, Sharad Bheshavkar and Raju Basnyat.

The Malaysian team arrived Kathmandu late on Wednesday to take part in the April 23-25 tournament. Last month, Nepal visited the United Arab Emirates and earned 14 points to the hosts 18 from the drawn match.

To keep hopes alive of advancing to the semi-finals from the Asian Region, Nepal must beat Malaysia and wait Malaysia beat UAE in August 13-15 match.

The ICC has divided 12 nations in four groups — Asia, Africa, Americas and Europe — of three teams each.

Top each from all the four groups advance to the semi-finals to be held in the UAE from November 16-18.