Nepal clinch ACC U-16 Eastern Region Tournament 2017 title

KATHMANDU: Nepal won the title of the ACC U-16 Eastern Region Tournament 2017 by thrashing Singapore with 71 runs played at the Terdthai Cricket Ground in Bangkok, Thailand, on Sunday.

Nepal and Singapore both made it to the finals of the tournament with ease after winning all their group matches and semi-finals.

Nepal won the toss and elected to bat first in the final show down of the tournament.

Bishal Bikram stand-in skipper in the absence of regular captain Rit Gautam, led from the front with a scintillating knock of 63 runs to propel Nepal to the title.

Nepal posted a formidable score of 183 runs for the loss of six-wicket in their allotted 35 overs.

At one stage, Nepal were reeling for 61/3 in the 15 overs, Singapore broke the partnership of the tournament leading run scorer Trit Raj Das and stand-in skipper Bishal Bikram.

Bishal Bikram's innings finally ended on 63 runs off 79 deliveries after slashing blade over a out-swinging delivery only to feather a catch to the wicket keeper.

Das was caught and bowled by Ishaan Sawnery for 19 runs.

Nepal's fast bowler Narayan Joshi belted a quick-fire innings of 46 runs at the end of the innings and remained unbeaten to post a formidable target to the inform team of the tournament.

Singapore's spinners Ishaan Sawney and Vinit Mehta both took two wickets each.

In reply, Singapore managed to muster only 112 runs failing short by 71 runs to capitulate title to the Himalayan Nation.

At one stage, Singapore were batting sensibly and were cruising for 43/1 after 15 overs. Aarush Baghwat top scored with 31 runs and Nasrulla Rana managed to score 30 runs in the loosing cause.

However, Nepal managed to pick wickets at regular interval and folded the opponents innings for only 112 runs. Nepal's leg spinner Surya Tamang was pick of the bowler with 3-20.

Ajay Kumar Loniya claimed three Singaporean scalps while spearhead Narayan Joshi took one wicket to finish eleven wickets in the tournament.

Nepal's Bishal Bikram was adjudged man of the match for his innings of 63 runs.

Singaporean Ishaan Sawney was awarded the player of the tournament for scoring 135 runs and taking 9 wickets.

Nepal's Trit Raj Das claimed the best batsman of the tournament and Mohammad Afiq of Malaysia won the best bowler of the tournament award.