NCS hammer Syangja; Kasthamandap win

Pokhara, June 15

Nepal Cricket School United, Pokhara Cricket Academy, Makwanpur Cricket Academy and Kasthamandap Cricket Academy advanced to the semi-finals of the Sponsor U-16 Academy Cup here today.

NCS United hammered Syangja Cricket Academy ‘B’ by 200 runs, while Kasthamandap defeated Machhapuchhre Cricket Academy by 26 runs. NCS United and Pokhara made it to the last four as Group B winners and runners-up after they accumulated six and four points respectively, while Makwanpur topped Group A on better net run rate after being tied on four points with Kasthamandap.

Batting first, NCS United posted 247-2 in 20 overs before Syangja were packed for a paltry 47 runs in 16.4 overs. Sachin Sharma top scored for NCS United with a fiery unbeaten 80 off 51 balls that included three fours and six sixes, while skipper Gautam Rit struck eight fours and six sixes in his 35-ball 78. Birat Bhandari remained unbeaten on 57 off just 30 balls that included four each boundaries and sixes.

In reply, none of the Syangja batsmen could score in double figures. Man-of-the-match Birat Bhandari (4-11) and Pratish GC (4-9) shared eight wickets between them, while Gautam Rit and Bikram Kharel took one wicket each for NCS United.

In another match, Kasthamandap scored 133-8 and packed Machhapuchhre for 107 with two balls to spare. Skipper Irfan Khan top scored for Kasthamandap with 17, while Ishan Arjel (16) and Ugen Sherchan (10) contributed in double figures. Their team total included a whopping 50 extra runs including 42 from wide balls.

For Machhapuchhre, Subash Poudel took 2-21, while Huzaif Yaseen and Himal Pun pocketed one wicket each. They also affected four run outs. In reply, Krishna Poudel scored 32 off 26 balls that included three boundaries and a six, while Sandeep Chhantyal (16) and Safal Poudel (15) scored in double figures for Machhapuchhre. Saman Shrestha was the pick of the Kasthamandap bowlers taking 4-22 and that also earned him the man-of-the-match award. Ram Surat Yadav claimed 3-17, while Uthant Lama and Irfan Khan pocketed one wicket each.

In Friday’s semi-final matches, Makwanpur will take on Pokhara, while NCS United are up against Kasthamandap.