Nepal cricket squad announced for Kenya matches

KATHMANDU: A 14-member Nepal cricket team has been announced for their two ICC World Cricket League matches against Kenya next week.

Paras Khadka has been named the captain of the team whereas Gyanendra Malla is his deputy.

According to Raman Shiwakoti, technical analyst of the national cricket team, the team members are:

  1. Paras Khadka (Captain)
  2. Gyanendra Malla (Vice-Captain)
  3. Sharad Vesawkar
  4. Shakti Prasad Gauchan
  5. Basant Regmi
  6. Sompal Kami
  7. Sagar Pun
  8. Binod Bhandari
  9. Karan KC
  10. Sandeep Lamichhane
  11. Mahaboob Alam
  12. Md. Arif Sheikh
  13. Sunil Dhamala
  14. Dipendra Singh Airee

Likewise, four reserve players have also been named:

  1. Rajesh Pulami Magar
  2. Avinash Karn
  3. Bhuwan Karki
  4. Dilip Nath

 A three-member selection team comprising ICC-Asia Cricket Development Officer Venkatapathy Raju, Nepal head coach Jagat Tamatta and skipper Khadka had made the selection.

Nepal are playing against Kenya on March 11 and 12 at the Tribhuvan University Stadium.

Currently, Nepal are at the sixth position with six points, while Kenya are fifth with eight points. The Netherlands lead the table with 16 points, followed by Papua New Guinea (12), Hong Kong (11) and Scotland (11). Namibia (two) and UAE (two) are seventh and eighth respectively in the eight-team competition.