Nepal were drawn Group A with Jordan, Indonesia and Kuwait in the AFC Asian Cup Qualifiers. A total of 24 teams will take part in the Qualifiers slated for June 8-14.

The teams have been divided into six pools and group winners along with five best runners-up will join 13 already-qualified teams in China for the AFC Asian Cup. The Group A matches will be played in Kuwait, while India, Kyrgyzstan, Malaysia, Mongolia and Uzbekistan will host other group matches.

Nepal will begin the campaign with a match against Jordan on June 8 before taking on Kuwait three days later. Nepal will face Indonesia in the third and final match on June 14.

Thirteen teams - hosts China, Vietnam, Lebanon, Oman, Iraq, Australia, Iran, Japan, South Korea, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria and the United Arab Emirates - have already qualified for the Cup.

Nepal had made it to the final round of qualifying after they finished fourth in first round, which also served as World Cup qualifiers.

Nepal recorded two wins - both against Chinese Taipei - finishing the campaign with six points.

A version of this article appears in the print on February 25, 2022, of The Himalayan Times.