KATHMANDU: The Asian Football Confederation has confirmed Nepal as the host of the Group F matches of the AFC Women's Asian Cup India 2022 Qualifiers. In a draw held at the AFC House in Kuala Lumpur, Nepal were drawn in Group F along with the Philippines and Hong Kong. The 28 participating nations have been divided into eight groups and the qualifiers will be held in September. Chinese Taipei, Bahrain, Turkmenistan and Laos are in Group A, while Vietnam, Tajikistan, Maldives and Afghanistan are in Group B. Likewise, Group C consists of DPR Korea, Singapore, Iraq and Indonesia, while Myanmar, United Arab Emirates, Guam and Lebanon are in Group D.

Similarly, Korea Republic, Uzbekistan and Mongolia were drawn in Group E, whereas Group G consists of Jordan, Iran and Bangladesh. Also, Thailand, Palestine and Malaysia are in Group H. The winners of each group will earn berth in the 12-team Finals along with defending champions Japan, 2018 runners-up Australia and third-placed China as well as hosts India. The AFC Women's Asian Cup is scheduled for January 20 to February 6 next year.

A version of this article appears in the print on June 25 2021, of The Himalayan Times.