SAFF Suzuki Cup: Nepal lose to Sri Lanka 0-1

KATHMANDU: Nepal lost their opening match of the Eighth SAFF Championship at the hands of Sri Lanka in Trivandrum on Wednesday.

Mohammad Rifnas scored the solitary goal of the match in the first minute of the injury time as Sri Lanka extended their dominance over Nepal.

Against the run of the play, Nepal conceded the goal due to the lapse of defence when Sri Lankan charged down in a counterattack.

Nepal wasted hosts of goal-scoring opportunities as the strikers failed to find the back of the nets for the eleventh straight match.

Nepal are scheduled to play Indian on Sunday.

Nepal are pitted in Group A along with India, and Sri Lanka. Pakistan, who were in the same group, pulled out from the tournament, making the 12-day tournament a seven-team affair, with Afghanistan, Maldives, Bangladesh and Bhutan featuring in Group B.

Nepal Substitutes

Bikash Kuthu (gk), Robin Shrestha (df), Ananta Tamang (df), Jagajeet Shrestha (mf), Bishal rai (mf), Yogesh Gurung (mf), Nawayug Shrestha (fw), Amrit Chaudhary (gk), Nabin Lama (mf)

Sri Lanka Playing XI

Sujan perera (gk)

M.K.M. Hakeem (df)

M. Chalana Chameera

H.D.W. Hettiarachchi

Sajith Kumara (mf)

Danushka Wijeshiri

R.A.A. Nalaka(c)

L.H. Kavindu Ishan

H.D. Madhusan De Silva

Mohamed Rifnas

Johar Mohamed Zarwan (fw)

Sri Lanka Substitutes

Ruwan Arunasiri (gk), Mohamed Izzadeen (fw), Asikur Rahuman (df), L.A.N.D. Bandara (mf), E.A.C. Sanjeewa (mf), Subash Madushan (df), Lakpriya Fernando (gk), Edison Figurado (mf) and S. Gnanaruban (mf)