Nepal thrash China, storm into final

Kathmandu, July 17:

Nepal stormed into the final of the first ACC Women’s Cricket Tournament with comprehensive nine-wicket win over China in semi-final at the Johar Cricket Academy in Malaysia today.

Electing to bat first, China were bundled out for mere 40 runs in 28.5 overs. In reply, Nepal chased the total losing just one wicket in 14.3 overs. In Wednesday’s final, Nepal will play against a strong contender, Bangladesh, who beat Hong Kong by 59 runs in another semi-final.

China were rendered helpless by the disciplined Nepali bowling attack from the very beginning of the match making them extremely difficult to score. Opening bowler Sita Rana trapped Liu Biyu (2) leg before in the fourth over of the innings with just three runs on board. Nepal needed another six overs to take the second wicket but China had only added six runs by then. Ritu Kanaujiya got rid of Sun Huan, who scored only one run in 30 balls, to make it 9-2 in 10.5 overs.

Sun Heng Yau defied Nepali bowlers but wickets fell in regular intervals at the other end. Yau top-scored with 18 runs in her patient 61-ball knock. Neetu Thapa had Yau caught by wicketkeeper Madhu Thapa.

Keshari Chaudhari cleaned up China’s tail after two run outs in the middle order. Keshari was on hat-trick but Yang Yu Xuan denied her the chance in the 25th over. Keshari took three wickets conceding five runs in 2.5 overs. Sita, Ritu, Neera Rajopadhya, captain Nary Thapa and Neetu Thapa claimed one wicket each.

Chasing 41-run target, Nepal lost the only wicket in the sixth over with 15 runs on board. China captian Nei Chun Hua dismissed Manisha Rawal (1).

Ritu and Madhu guided their team to a comfortable victory. Opener Ritu scored an unbeaten nine runs in her 54-ball knock and Madhu made 23-ball 10.

Skipper Nary credited the win to the team work. “We will continue with the same spirit against Bangladesh in final,” said Nary.



L Biyu lbw b Sita 2

S Huan lbw b Ritu 1

S Yau c Madhu b Neetu 18

D Qiong b Neera 1

H Ting b Nary 1

M Hua run out 1

C Juan run out 0

W Yun b Keshari 4

W Meng b Keshari 1

C Yuan b Keshari 0

Y Xuan not out 0

Extras: 11 (w 6, b4, lb1)

Total: 40 (28.5 overs)

FoW: 1-3, 2-9, 3-17, 4-18, 5-27, 6-27,

7-29, 8-32, 9-32

Nepal bowling: Ritu 6-2-5-1, Sita 6-3-4-1, Neera 5-0-11-1, Nary 6-0-9-1,

Neetu 3-2-1-1, Keshari 2.5-2-5-3


Ritu not out 9

Manisha c Twang b Hua 1

Madhu not out 10

Extras: 21 (w15, b5, lb1)

Total: 41/1 (14.3 overs)

FoW: 1-15

China bowling: Meng 4-1-3-0,

Hua 4-0-13-1, Xuan 3.3-1-8-0,

Yuan 3-0-11-0