Niraula maintains unbeaten run, holds on to lead

Lalitpur, August 20:

Niraj Niraj Niraula of Jhapa held on to the lead after the completion of the fifth round of the 15th National Chess Tournament here today.

Niraula maintained his unbeaten run to stay atop the leader board with 4.5 points. He defeated Janardan Shrestha in the fourth round before playing a draw with Sujendra Prasad Shrestha in the fifth round today.

Surbir Lama, Shyam Shrestha, Rajan Chhetry, Manish Hamal, Janardan Shrestha, Sujendra Prasad Shrestha, Bhagwati Prasad Sharma, R Bajracharya, Balaram Napit and Badri Lal Nepali are tied for the second with four points.

Surbir started with a win over Singheswor Das in the fourth round but was held to a draw in the next round by Shyam Shrestha. Shyam beat Suman Suwal in the fourth round. Badri Lal defeated Bhawani Limbu before overcoming Uttam Raj Thapa. Rajan also won the fourth round tie against Dirgha Raj Joshi but was held by Manish. Manish played a draw earlier with Keshav Shrestha.