The Nepal Sports and Events Management (NSEM) Pvt Ltd on Friday announced the prize money of the Khukri Nepal Super League.

According to NSL CEO Sudeep Sharma, the winning team will be richer by Rs 3.5 million, while the runners-up will get Rs 1.5 million.

The best goalkeeper, defender, midfielder, forward and emerging player of the tournament will get Rs 100,000 apiece, while man-of-thematch in each game will receive Rs 25,000. An emerging footballer - except for 'A' class and foreign players - will be awarded with Rs 10,000 in each match.

A total of seven franchise-based teams will take part in the first-ever Nepal Super League, which will be played under lights at the Dasharath Stadium.

Lalitpur City Footballl Club will take on Kathmandu RayZrs in the opening match on Saturday.

A version of this article appears in the print on April 24, 2021, of The Himalayan Times.