MAHENDRANAGAR: Province-5 defeated Farwest Province by eight wickets in the Mirai Prime Minister Cup Women’s T20 Cricket Tournament here on Friday.

Batting first, Farwest were bowled out for 78 runs in 18.3 overs before Province-5 raced to 81-2 in 12.2 overs. Province-5 skipper Nery Thapa remained unbeaten on 28 off 19 balls that included five boundaries, while Gita Gosain struck three fours in her 30-ball 20.

Saraswati Gharti Magar (10) also scored in double figure, while Mamata Thapa scored five not out. Sushila Gurung took both the wickets for Farwest. Earlier, Gurung top scored for Farwest with 19 off 26 balls hitting two boundaries, while Shristi Paudel hit four boundaries in his 11-ball 18.

Other batters failed to contribute in double figures for Farwest. Kritika Marasini was the pick of the Province-5 bowlers taking 3-18 and that also earned her the player-of-the-match award. Sima Thapa grabbed 2-16, while Nery Thapa, Saraswati Pun Magar and Laxmi Chaudhary claimed one wicket each.