Pulsar, NSJF renew deal

Kathmandu, June 19

Nepal Sports Journalists Forum (NSJF) extended the sponsorship deal with Hansaraj Hulaschand and Company and announced the date of the Pulsar Sports Award here on Sunday.

Executive Director of Hansaraj Hulaschand and Company Shekhar Golchha and NSJF President Mahesh Acharya signed the memorandum of understanding sealing the main sponsorship deal for the next five years. The Pulsar Sports Award features eight categories — Male, Female, Youth, Coach, Para-athlete, popular player, Special and Lifetime Achievement awards.

According to the MoU, main sponsors Hansaraj Hulaschand and Company will provide the NSJF with Rs 1.5 million including three Pulsar motorcycles. The Player of the Year in three categories, male, female and popular, will receive Pulsar two-wheelers, while other five will be rewarded with Rs 50,000 and trophies.

Executive Director Golchha thanked the NSJF for providing the company with the opportunity to honour the athletes. “Over the years, the Pulsar Sports Award has become a prestigious event and I am thankful to the NSJF for taking us in,” said Golchha.

“The private sector investment in sports is always inadequate as the government has not been putting in enough budget for the development of sports,” he added. “We have seen how sports brings happiness in people’s faces,” said Golchha. “So the government should increase investment,” he added.

Acharya said NSJF was merely an organiser of the programme. “Pulsar Sports Award belongs to the whole of the sports fraternity and we have been able to organise this programme only because of the help of private sector like Hansaraj Hulaschand and Company,” said Acharya.

“Since this award is not merely a programme of NSJF but of Nepali sports as a whole, I would like to thank Hansraj Hulaschand and Co for the support and request everyone to support it to make it a successful one,” said Acharya. “Like previous editions, we hope to get support from all quarters of society in our bid to make the event a grand success.”

NSJF will announce five each nominees in five categories, while the winners of the Para-athlete, Special and Lifetime Achievement Awards will be announced directly.