Rain plays spoilsport as Army, Police share cup

Kathmandu, June 8

Tribhuvan Army Club and Nepal Police Club shared the trophy of the first Prime Minister Cup One-Day National Men’s Cricket Tournament here at the TU Stadium today.

The two finalists were forced to share the title after the match ended in a no result due to rain. Chasing 127 runs to win the match, TAC had reached 7-1 in 2.3 overs before when rain stopped play. As no further play was possible, the umpires called off the match.

TAC bowlers backed skipper Binod Bhandari’s decision to field first Jitendra Mukhiya and Sushan Bhari claimed seven wickets as they bowled out NPC for 126 runs in 45.1 overs. Mukhiya returned with 4-28, while Bhari took 3-19. They were ably supported by Sagar Pun (2-35) and Sompal Kami (1-25). Sunil Dhamala top scored for NPC with 32 off 90 balls, while Siddhant Lohani scored 42-ball 20. Dipendra Airee (19), Kushal Bhurtel (15) and Sushil Kandel (12) were the other batsmen who reached double figures but failed to convert them into big knocks.

The two teams were playing the final on a reserve day after the organisers, National Sports Council, rescheduled the match for today. According to sources, the final match, which was originally slated for Wednesday, was rescheduled after the Prime Minister’s Office assured the organisers of managing PM Sher Bahadur Deuba’s time for the presentation ceremony.

TAC and NPC shared the trophy along with the cash prize taking home Rs 1.5 million each. The NSC had set aside Rs two million rupees and one million rupees respectively for the two teams.

Sagar Pun of TAC was named the player of the tournament and received Rs 100,000, while his teammate Sushan Bhari was adjudged the best bowler and Saurav Khanal of Western Region and was declared the best batsman. Bhari and Khanal earned Rs 50,000 each.