Basnet, Budha win

Lalitpur: Ramji Basnet and Bhiswo Rupa Budha won gold medals in the 5,000m race under the CoAS Trophy here at the Nepal Army Sports Complex today.

Basnet clocked 15 minutes and 16.70 seconds to win the men’s category race.

Lal Bahadur Thapa finished second with the timing of 15 minutes and 17.84 seconds, while Tika Raj Katuwal came third in 15 minutes and 25.53 seconds.

In the women’s category, Budha finished the race in 18 minutes and 1.42 seconds to bag the gold medal.

Reshu Basnet took 18 minutes and 14.02 seconds to claim second position, while Laxmi Pandey finished third in 19 minutes and 10.02 seconds.