Ranchi defeat Birat, enter final

Bara, May 14

Ranchi Cricket Club of India advanced to the final of the Jagshakti Sansad Cup Twenty20 Cricket Tournament here at the Sideshwar grounds today.

Ranchi defeated Birat Cricket Society by six wickets in their last league round match. Ranchi will take on the winners of the eliminator play-off between Birat and Kalaiya Cricket Club in the championship match.

Ranchi accumulated eight points to finish first in the table ahead of Kalaiya, who are second with six points from four matches. Birat came third with four from as many matches.

Batting first after winning the toss, Birat were bowled out for 157 in 20 overs, while Ranchi raced to 159-4 in just 15.4 overs. Hasim Ansari top scored for Birat with 40 off 41 balls that included three fours and two sixes, while Mehboob Alam scored a fiery 39 off just 19 balls with three fours and three sixes. Monty Singh claimed three wickets for Ranchi, while Vikash Shrivastava took two wickets, Atul Anand, Shrawan Kumar and Paritosh Kumar grabbed a wicket apiece.

In reply, Ranchi attacked Birat bowlers from the beginning and overcame the total with ease. Nagendra Mishra top scored for Ranchi with 53 off 35 balls with seven fours and two sixes, while Kamal Dubey remained unbeaten on 25 off 15 balls. Manoj Mandal claimed two wickets for Birat, while Arshalan Akhtar and Shaddab Akhtar took a wicket each.

In another match, New Horizon Cricket Club of Bhairahawa registered an 18-run victory over Mahabir Yuva Committee of Janakpur. Batting first, New Horizon scored 140-7 in 20 overs and packed Mahabir for 122 runs in 19.4 overs. Nirmal Thapa top scored for New Horizon with 49 off 50 balls, while Bishal Khatri scored run-a-ball 30. Abhishek Jha claimed two wickets, while Raj Mohammad and Samsad Ansari took a wicket each for Mahabir.

Mahabir never looked comfortable in run chase and they lost wickets at regular interval. Raj Mohammad top scored with 31 off 26 balls with three fours, while Anil Mandal scored run-a-ball 26.

Krishna Karki claimed three wickets for New Horizon, while Ganesh Gaudel took two wickets, Kushal Malla and Dhiraj Shahi grabbed a wicket apiece.