Nepal | September 16, 2019

Rupandehi Challengers, Kanchanpur Iconic cruise in DPL

Sagarmatha Cement Dhangadhi Premier League

Tekendra Deuba

A batsman plays a cut shot as wicketkeeper looks on during the Dhangadhi Premier League, in Dhangadhi on Sunday, April 16, 2017. Photo: Tekendra Deuba

DHANGADHI: Rupandehi Challengers and Kanchanpur Iconic have emerged victorious at the ongoing Sagarmatha Cement Dhangadhi Premier League played at Seti Zone Police Office Ground in Dhangadhi on Sunday.

Rupandehi Challengers who have already secured a play-offs berth, continued their winning streak as they defeated Biratnagar Kings by 61 runs.

Opting to bat first Rupandehi Challengers made 133 runs as Antim Thapa top scored with 45 runs, Krishna Karki contributed 22 runs. However, Biratnagar Kings were folded for paltry 71 runs as Man-of-the-Match Shab Alam tormented their batting line-up with four scalps.

Biratnagar Kings have already secured their passage to play-offs.

Avinash Bohara looks on after delivering a ball during the Dhangadhi Premier League in Dhangadhi, on Sunday, April 16, 2017. Photo: RSS

Similarly, Kanchanpur Iconic kept their hope alive of qualifying to the next round with a comprehensive win over CYC Attariya by six wickets with 60 balls to spare.

CYC Attariya opted to bat first and posted a meagre score of 86 runs as Avinash Karn and Sunil Dhamala took three wickets each. Kanchanpur Iconic chased down the target within 10 overs with the loss of four wickets. Captain Binod Bhandari, Sagar Pun and Sunil Dhamala all scored 16, 22 and 28 runs respectively in the winning cause.

With this win, Kathmandu Goldens, Kanchanpur Iconic and CYC Attariya are tied with four points each.

Som Pal Kami attempts to complete a run during the Dhangadhi Premier League, in Dhangadhi on Sunday, April 16, 2017. Photo: Tekendra Deuba

However, tomorrow’s game between table topper Rupandehi Challengers and eliminated defending champions Team Chauraha Dhangadhi would determine the fate of Kanchanpur Iconic.

If Rupandehi Challengers beat Team Chauraha Dhangadhi then Kanchanpur Iconic would progress into the next round as a fourth best team among six teams in the tournament.

Otherwise, run-rate would come into effect to determine the next two team progressing into the play-offs.

Top two teams would receive Rs 1.5 million and Rs 700,000 respectively. Man-of-the-match in every game receives Rs 10,000, while the player-of-the-series would get a TVS RTR 200 Apache motorcycle said the tournament co-ordinator Subash Shahi.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories: