Samajik Club clinch C Division League

Lalitpur, September 8:

Samajik Youth Club (SYC) won the C Division League Football with a narrow 3-2 win over Madhyapur Youth Association (MYA) in the championship match today.

Bishal Rai, Rajendra Deula and Sabir Chaudhary scored for Samajik while Raju Sinkeman struck both the goals for Madhyapur. Rai gave Samajik the lead in the 16th minute but Sinkeman levelled the scores in the 29th.

Deula made it 2-1 in the 35th and Chaudhary extended the lead two minutes into the first half injury time. Sinkeman cut the margin scoring his second in the 63rd for MYA but that could not avert his team’s defeat.

Chyasal Youth Club secured the third and final berth for next year’s B Division League with a 5-0 win over Sanepa Club. Robin Byanjankar scored a brace and Bikram Lama, Robin Byanjankar ‘B’ and Dikesh Khadka added one goal each.

Of the three berths, Samajik and MYA have already been promoted after winning their respective groups. Chyasal was the Group B runners up and Sanepa the Group A runners up.

Samajik Youth Club earned a cheque of Rs 100,000 and the runners up Madhyapur received Rs 50,000. Likewise, top five individuals — best goalkeeper, defender, midfielder, forward, and coach — received Rs 5,000 each.

Among the winners were Ranjit Gurung of Charumati Yuva Pariwar (goalkeeper), Bikram Baniya of Samajik Youth Club (defender), Nirmal Shrestha of Madhyapur (midfielder), Raj Poudel of Nava Jyoti Yuva Pariwar (forward) and Devendra Jung Shahi of Sakchham Nagar Youth Club (coach).

Minister for Information and Communication Krishna Bahadur Mahara gave away the awards to the winners. In all, 14 teams took part in the league. All Nepal Football Association (ANFA) president Ganesh Thapa was also present on the occasion.