Senior Team beat U-21

KATHMANDU: Shakti Gauchan struck a magnificent half century as Senior National

Team eased to a 90-run win over Under-21 National Team during the 40-over warm-up match here at the Tribhuvan University Stadium today.

In their first meeting in a Twenty20 match on Saturday, the U-21 Team had beaten the Senior side by one wicket at the same venue. The Senior Team is preparing for the Pepsi ICC World Cricket League Division-V slated here for February 20-27 while the U-21 Team is scheduled to compete in the 11th South Asian Games later this month.

Electing to bat first, Senior Team scored 193-9 in the allotted 40 overs and restricted the U-21 Team for 103 in 30 overs.

Shakti scored 82 runs to anchor the Senior Team’s innings. Shakti, who was later named man-of-the-match, hit five boundaries in his 116-ball knock. Opener Dipendra Chaudhary made 29 from 39 balls including two fours while Sharad Vesawkar (18), skipper Paras Khadka (14) and Sagar Pun (12) also contributed valuable runs to the total.

Chandra Saud took five wickets conceding 49 runs in eight overs for the U-21 Team. Anil Mandal also took two (2-30) and Pradeep Ayree (1-34) claimed one wicket for the junior team.

In reply, the U-21 Team struggle to score runs and were reeling at 23-3 by the eighth over. Binod Das bowled opener Subash Khakurel (13) in the sixth over before returning to trap Naresh Budhayer (six) leg before wicket in his next over to reduce the U-21 to 23-2 in the eighth over. And in the next over they were 23-3 after skipper Paras had Anil Mandal (four) caught by wicketkeeper Mahesh Chhetri.

Skipper Gyanendra Malla and Prithu Baskota (13) put on 52-run stand for the fourth wicket but latter’s dismissal in the 21st over meant the U-21 lost their last six wickets for 28 runs. Gyanendra made 41 off 66 balls with four boundaries and a six.

Sanjam Regmi was the pick of the Senior Team bowlers with 3-10 from four overs. Former national team skipper Binod Das (2-16), Basanta Regmi (2-18) and Rahul Kumar BK (2-7) claimed two wickets each. Skipper Paras (1-11) also bagged one wicket from five overs.