Shakya duo triumph

LALITPUR: Sanil Shakya and Suman Shakya won the men’s doubles title of the 10th Yala Cup Badminton Tournament here on Sunday.

The Shakya pair from Nagbahal defeated defending champions Sasin Dangol and Sumit Shakya 21-17, 20-22, 21-15 in the final.

The winners received Rs 30,000 along with running shield, while the runners-up got Rs 20,000.

The pairs of Raju Bajracharya/Sumit Maharjan and Sandeep Shakya/Ratna Kaji Bajracharya finished joint third and they earned Rs 10,000 each.

Meanwhile, Sahaj Shakya won the U-15 singles title with a 21-15, 13-21, 21-17 victory over Sujal Shakya, while Shrawan Shakya and Pujan Chitrakar came joint third.

Likewise, Raj Bajracharya and Yasna Dangol claimed the mixed doubles title beating Sumit Maharjan and Lipi Bajracharya 21-18, 21-14. Suman Shakya/Prakriti Shakya and Dipesh Shakya/Supala Bajracharya came joint third. Top three in U-15 and mixed events received Rs 10,000, Rs 7,000 and Rs 4,000 respectively.

Also, Birendra Lal Shrestha and Kishor Byanjankar bagged the veteran doubles title beating Sudim Shakya and Pravin Shakya 21-17, 24-22.

The pairs of Purna Bhakta Chitrakar/Kamal Rajkarnikar and Kamal Shakya/Rajesh Shakya finished joint third. Top three in veteran section received Rs 15,000, Rs 10,000 and Rs 5,000 respectively.

Mayor of Lalitpur Metropolitan City Chiri Babu Maharjan and President of Nepal Badminton Association Ramji Bahadur Shrestha handed over the prizes to the winners of the tournament organised by Eleven Star Club.