Shankerdev pip KCMIT, win BBA Twenty20 Cup

Kathmandu, May 22

Shankerdev Campus won the title of the Universal TU BBA Twenty20 Cup Cricket Tournament here at the Mulpani grounds today.

Shankerdev defeated Kantipur College of Management and Information Technology by six runs in the final match. Batting first, Shankerdev scored 146-8 in their allotted 20 overs before restricting KCMIT to 140-8. Along with the trophy Shankerdev received Rs 50,000, while KCMIT earned Rs 25,000.

Manish Chalise top scored for Shankerdev with 32 off 31 balls that included five boundaries, while Ranjan Kumar Gupta struck five fours in his 24-ball 31. Abiral Lama scored 21 and Rajan Dhakal contributed 17 runs for Shankerdev.

Saroj Mandal was the pick of the KCMIT bowlers taking 4-31, while Sarwan Bhandari claimed 2-28. Aashish Thakur and Bibek Budhathoki pocketed one wicket apiece.

In reply, Aashish Thakur scored an unbeaten 60 off 40 balls but he failed to avert his team's defeat. Thakur struck eight fours and a six in his knock. Rakesh Banepali scored 20 off 22 balls hitting three fours, while Arjun Pant remained unbeaten on 17 off 13 balls that included three boundaries.

Man-of-the-match Rajan Dhakal took 3-21 for Shankerdev, while Sachin Poudel and Manoj Bista claimed two each. Shankar Gyawali pocketed one wicket.

Sachin Poudel of Shankerdev was declared the man-of-the-series and he received Rs 10,000, while his teammate Rajan Dhakal was named the best bowler and earned Rs 5,000. Likewise, Rakesh Banepali of KCMIT was adjudged the best batsman and he got Rs 5,000. Youth and Sports Minister Jagat Bahadur Sunar handed over the prizes to the winners.