Sharma & Team win Pro-Am

Pokhara, November 29:

The team led by pro Pashupati Sharma won the Pro-Am event of the Surya Nepal Western Open Golf Tournament here at the Himalayan Golf Course today.

Sharma, who scored 35 stableford points after a round of one-over 74, was teamed up with amateurs SP Rajendra Shrestha (30), Madan Gurung (39) and Raju Sapkota (26) for a total of 155 points.

The team of pro Shiva Ram Shrestha, who earned 38 points, and amateurs Dil Gurung (35), Prasanna Upreti (32) and JB Gurung (22) finished second with a total of 127 points. The team of pro Sanjay Lama (31), Rajan Thapa (24), AT Sherpa (29) and Maj Dharmendra Gurung (30) finished third.

Madan Gurung won the individual best scorer’s award with 39 points, while Dil Gurung was the runner-up with 35 points. Other winners of the day were Neeraj SJB Rana (closest to the pin) and Madan Gurung (longest drive). The top three team pros received Rs 4,000, Rs 3,000 and Rs 2,000, while the amateurs were awarded with trophies.

Dharan pro Mani Rai claimed the professional championship played over 36 holes on Thursday and Friday with the score of nine-over 155. Gokarna pro Pashupati Sharma finished second with 157, while the winner of the previous three events under the Surya Nepal Tour, Shiva Ram Shrestha was third at 159. The top three golfers got Rs 65,000, Rs 40,000 and Rs 32,500 respectively.

A total of 40 players — 22 pros and 18 amateurs below nine handicap allowance — took part in the main event. In all, 72 golfers including four ladies participated in the Pro-Am event.

President of Nepal Professional Golfers’ Association Rabindra Man Shrestha, President of Kaski District Sports Development Committee Dil Bahadur Gurung and DIG Navaraj Dhakal among others gave away prizes.

A friendly golf tournament, played under match-play format, between the Kathmandu and Pokhara Team is slated for Sunday.