POKHARA: The team led by pro Surya Sharma claimed the Pro-Am event of the Surya Nepal Western Open Golf Tournament here at the Himalayan Golf Course today.

Surya Sharma, who scored 29 stableford points, was drawn with amateurs Tika Gurung (39), Ang Norbu Sherpa (29) and Maj Ganga Gurung (25) for a total of 122 points. The team of pro Ramesh Nagarkoti, who earned 29 points, and amateurs Ramesh Gurung (31), Maj BK Gurung (30) and Bhuwan Pudasaini (30) finished second with a total of 120 points. The team of pro Sanjay Lama and amateurs Maj Bejoy Moktan (31), AT Sherpa (29) and Charlee Gurung (24) finished third with the total score of 116 points.

Ms Tika Gurung won the individual best scorer’s award with 39 points, while Ram Baniya was the runner-up with 33 points on the count back. Other winners of the day were Raju Bhattarai (closest-to-the-pin) and Neeraj Rana (longest drive). Professional golfers of the top three teams received Rs 5,000, Rs 3,000 and Rs 2,000 respectively, while the amateurs were awarded with trophies. Top 10 pro and top 30 amateur scores were put into draw and the highest totaling team of one pro and three amateurs was declared the winner. In all, 60 golfers including two ladies participated in the Pro-Am.

President of Nepal Professional Golfers’ Association (NPGA) Rabindra Man Shrestha, President of Kaski District Golf Association Maj Lachhim Prasad Gurung, Secretary of Nepal Golf Association Dorji T Sherpa, Brand Officer of Surya Nepal Pvt Ltd Rajat Thapa and former NPGA President Ghana Shyam Thapa gave away prizes to the winners.

Meanwhile, the main event, Surya Nepal Western Open begins from Sunday with top pros vying for the championship played over the 54 holes. The winner takes home Rs 72,000 while the first runner and second runner up gets Rs 46000 and Rs 36,000 respectively. Others in the top 20 will also receive their share of cash prizes, while rest will get consolation awards.

Defending champion Mani Rai will be joined by top pros Shiva Ram Shrestha, Deepak Thapa Magar, Deepak Acharya, Sabin Sapkota Pashupati Sharma, Rabi Khadka and Ramesh Nagarkoti. The RNGC golfer Raj Pradhan is set to turn pro on Sunday. Pradhan will be the 34th Nepali professional golfers.