Sherpa clinches Isuzu Open title

Kathmandu, November 24

Tendi Sherpa won the title of the Isuzu Open Golf Tournament here at the Gokarna Golf Club today.

Played under stableford ¾ handicap format, the nine-handicap golfer Sherpa earned 41 points to win the trophy along with Callaway Rouge driver. Jigme Dongtetsang finished second with 38 points. Tashi Ghale chose to take the gross section trophy instead of nett category runner-up as he had scored 40 points. The one-handicapper Ghale — who carded four birdies and faced a bogey in his round — took the gross section title with 39 points. Ghale also received Callaway Rouge driver.

Miae Lee won the women’s section title with 33 points, while Lt Gen KNS Thapa bagged the senior category trophy on the count back after he was tied on 34 points with Bhairaja Pandey and Bijay Bahadur Shrestha. Sadbhav Acharya claimed the junior section trophy with 33 points.

Capt Norbu Sherpa won most birdies award on count back after he was tied on four birdies with Tashi Ghale. Other winners of the event included Ang Tshiring Sherpa (straightest drive), Vijay Shrestha Einhaus (longest drive) and Maj Gen Mahesh Bikram Karki (closest-to-the-pin). No golfer was able to win the Hole-in-One prize of Isuzu pick-up vehicles kept on Hole No 10 and 16.

A total of 106 golfers took part in the tournament organised by Continental Trading Pvt Ltd, the official distributor of Isuzu vehicles in Nepal. Japanese Ambassador to Nepal Masamiki Saigo, Senior Executive Officer Isuzu Motors in Japan Yoichi Masuda, Chairman of Continental Trading Suhrid Ghimire, and Director Rekha Ghimire handed over the prizes to the winners.