Kathmandu, February 14:

Aang Tsering Sherpa won the Gokarna Club Golf Championship 2008 here today.

Sherpa participated in the eight tournaments to accumulate 74 points to finish first in the monthly medal round championship ahead of Joseph Nathan, who earned 70 points from 10 matches. MD Mool and Wang Yi came joint third with 30 points each.

Nathan was the leader of the championship till 10 rounds and he would have won the trophy had he finished in top three in the final tournament on Saturday. Sherpa did not participate in the final round match.

Jan Morrenhof and Pradeep Kumar Shrestha finished joint fifth with 26 points each. A total of 25 players took part in the monthly medal championship.

A player gets 20 points for a win in the monthly medal tournament and 10 for the runner up finish. The third, fourth and fifth place getters receive six, four and two points respectively. At the end of the season, the player with highest points is declared the winner.

Played at the stroke play format with full handicap allowance at the Gokarna Golf Club today, Peter Morris emerged victorious with 94 gross points. Subodh Thapa, who also earned 90 points, came second. Morris and Thapa had handicap of 24 and 20 respectively.

Grees Bindra was seventh with 24 points. This was the first victory for Morris, who finished joint eighth with Deepak Rajbhandari with 20 points each. Tendi Sherpa, who earned 18 points, completed the top 10. General Manager of Gokarna Forest Resort Vikram Singh gave away the prizes to the winners.