Majhi takes one-stroke lead, Nepal B win team event

Kathmandu, March 22

Shiva Kumar Majhi took the lead after the second round of the Nepal Open Amateur Golf Championship here at the Gokarna Golf Club today.

Majhi carded one-over 73 to post a 36-hole total of one-over 145 and was one shot ahead of fellow Dharan golfer and his Nepal B teammate Sukra

Bahadur Rai, who played a round of 72. The duo combined to win the team event title.

Wangchen Dhondup was third at three-over 147 after he shot one-over 73. Overnight leader Hridesh Kumar Singh faltered to five-over 77 to share the fourth position with Tashi Dong (76) and Tashi Tsering (73) at four-over 147. Tshendra Dorji of Bhutan carded one-over 73 for a total score of five-over 149, while Prithivi Malla (76), Tenzing Tsering (75), and Md Shah Alam (74) and Md Shomrat Sikder (74) were tied at seven-over 151.

Majhi carded even-par 36 on the front nine that included birdies on third and fifth holes against bogeys on the seventh and eighth hole. On the back nine, Majhi shot a lone birdie on the 15th and faced bogeys on 14th and 16th holes for one-over 36.

After carding a birdie on the third hole, Rai faced a triple bogey six on the eighth to take turn at two-over 38. On the back nine, he shot birdies on 11th, 12th, and 17th holes against a bogey on 10th hole for two-under 34.

Likewise, Dhondup played even-par 36 on the front nine that included birdies on third and fifth holes against bogeys on second and ninth. On the latter half, Dhondup carded a birdie on the 10th before facing a double-bogey on the 11th hole for one-over 37.

Cut was applied after the second day with 30 golfers making it to the final round. A separate senior tournament featuring 24 golfers will be played on the final day on Thursday.

In team event, Nepal B of Shiva Kumar Majhi and Sukra Bahadur Rai won the title with the total score of three-over 291. Majhi carded 72 and 73, while Rai scored 74 and 72 in the first two rounds. Bangladeshi team of Mohammad Shah Alam and Mohammad Shomrat Sikdar was distant second at  302, while Nepal A — represented by Tanka Bahadur Karki and Tenzing Tsering — finished third with score of 305.